The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Cee’s Share Your World Week 16

Click on through for DW Williamson's Blog

Click on through for DW Williamson’s Blog

How many places have you lived? You can share the number of physical residences and/or the number of cities.

17 and holding. I hope. Not too long ago I toyed with the idea of moving again, but came to my senses.

I didn’t move out of my childhood home until married when I was a “mature” 20.5 years old. Then I didn’t stop moving. 16 moves in 38 years. I shudder to consider the expense of real estate fees, lawyers fees (divorce and real estate deals) and three or four new heating and cooling systems installed. When I read others’ submissions to this weekly prompt, I see that I am in good company. Lot’s of frequent flyers. Our families know us. When they update their address books, they have learned to use pencil for our entry.

What type of music relaxes you the most?

I used to listen to a lot of new age-y relaxation music, but don’t anymore. In order to really relax, I need silence.

Which reminds me of the time that I tried drumming meditation. That was the single most god-awful mediation I have ever endured. I was almost angry at the perceived assault!  I knew immediately that my expectations were the problem. I tried again, another time, and had a marvelous shamanic journey.

If you could instantly become fluent in another language, what would that language be and why? 

French, I suppose. So that I could apply for the jobs for which I am otherwise qualified. Everyone wants bilingual employees these days. Parlez vous? Oui. Un peu.

If you could fly or breathe under water what would you prefer?

If I am to judge by me dreams, flying please. I don’t trust the underwater breathing thing.

The video here called Love Found is from a compilation of animation shorts called “The Mind’s Eye”. In 1990 when it was released, it was leading edge computer animation and I thought it was the greatest thing going. It’s a sweet little love story, with a Kenny G kind of soundtrack.

Bonus question: What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I planted my peas, spinach and salad greens. The grass is greening up. After tomorrow, I will (finally!) be finished my semester. Next week, I start my AutoCAD course, which excites me a bit.

 

 

Inspired by Cee’s Share Your World 

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags:

7 replies

  1. Thanks so much for sharing this week. I enjoyed reading your post.

    Like

  2. You do make me laugh Maggie! Drumming meditation!! We really do share so many things in common.
    I think I had 16 moves with my first husband!! Flying is another thing I love to do in my dreams.
    What is the course you’re about to start?

    Like

  3. Hi Barbara! Isn’t it something? All of these shared traits? 🙂
    AutoCAD: computer assisted drafting – When I worked for the telephone company I prepared the construction plans using their form of the CAD software. It was based on the industry standard, AutoCAD. My plan is to upgrade my skills this summer so that I can complete the course work for the mining program and qualify for any drafting work that might come my way.

    Like

    • That sounds really good. So you must be very computer literate now! Hope you enjoy the next course and it leads onto what you’d like to do.
      Our nights are getting colder as yours are getting warmer, I’m sure.

      Like

  4. Regarding computer literacy: I know enough to be dangerous. I recall a time when I worked for the telephone company, Bell Canada. The computer program was glitchy as stink. One of the guys in the office said, “Don’t be afraid to try a few keyboard commands” – HAH! … famous last words.

    Like

Your thoughts?

