The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Morning Person

I’m a morning person. That is, if you define yourself in terms of when do you do your best work.

While studying mine engineering technology, I soon learned that the math part of my brain lost steam by noon. If I couldn’t figure the sums by lunch time, then I needed to postpone the work for another day, if I had that luxury. The research, reading, and ‘riting part of my brain still had plenty of gas for the essay type work on the “to do” list.

If however, I am to define myself in terms of when I am the most cheery… that depends:

  • On your definition of cheery, for starters. I have yet to hear the phrase, “That Maggie, she is so darn cheery!” Ask Reiner. He’s an all-day-long morning person. And a saint for enduring my morning grumps.
  • Caffeine intake. Nothing like a jolt or two to rev up the emotion quotient.
  • Food intake. I’m no different from any toddler. Feed me, and I’m happy. Don’t feed me, then prepare for the cranks!
  • Insomnia – irregular, but not uncommon. I am going through a bout these days.

    insomnia

    zzzzzzzzzz

  • On how I spent the weekend.

Take this past long Easter holiday. Friday I helped Reiner clean up the yard from the tree felling event. My job was to load, haul, stack firewood in the morning, and tend the bonfire in the afternoon. That set me on my keister for the next 24 hours.

Yesterday we went for our first rock collecting trip to a quarry an hour’s drive from home. We left bright and early and had breakfast on the road.

When we arrived at our destination, the local roads authority had posted a gate across. In winter the road is not maintained. As you all know, spring took her sweet time getting out of bed this year. Great. A longer tromp into the quarry. But what’s this? A shortcut!

“Yay!” you say.

Not so fast in the cheering section over there! And not so fast on that rocky trail, Reiner! Slow down and wait for me!

I have tumbled and stumbled once too often in my non-athletic career. Fallen from a horse at high-speed (twice) and bucked off once, a severe whiplash injury in a car accident, a fall from a balcony as a girl, and down a flight of icy stairs in my late 40’s. I’ve got weak ankles, to boot. I’ve lost count how many times I’ve sprained both ankles.

All this to say, I never know when I might put out my back. My poor spine has taken about all it can handle. All I need to do is bend over to pat the cat and I could find myself on the floor in spasms.

Thanks to my trusty walking stick, I made it to the bottom of the ravine and the hike to the quarry was easy.

It was a perfect day to be in a quarry. The sun was bright, which can be a hardship if the temperatures are warm and sunlight and heat reflect back from the stone walls. Yesterday, temps were in the low single digits, Celsius, so we were not too warm.

Orange Celestine from near Belfountain, Ontario

Orange Celestine from near Belfountain, Ontario

We spent a couple of hours clambering over rock piles and found a few nice crystals to bring home. This photo of orange celestine is an example of what we found.

My stomach started to grumble. I started to grumble. Fortunately, Reiner was hungry too, so we packed up and made our return trip to the car. The one true disadvantage to mineral collecting is that the way out is under heavier load and diminished energy. I used to help carry, but since I hauled out that calcite monster and paid the price in chiropractor bills, I expect to carry nothing more than my tired self.

It was a lovely weekend, all in all, and I am grateful for the chance to get out and enjoy it.

But I am pooped.

I’ve had my coffee and my breakfast, and you dear reader benefit from the fact that I know how to use the delete button on my keyboard. If I could only have an edit button installed for my “real” life. I think Reiner would appreciate that.

 

 

Categories: Daily Post

Tags: , , , , , ,

28 replies

  1. I’m a morning person too and love it! Great post!

    Like

  2. Lovely post, Maggie – and I adored the orange celestite (how beautiful). I am a Night Owl and cranky as all hell first thing in the morning! xxx

    Like

    • Thank you Ali. I would not have taken you for a night owl. Now that I think of it, with our time zone difference, I suppose that explains why I’ve read your posts when I thought it was way past your bedtime!
      I’m glad you like the celestite. It is unusual in that as you’d expect from the name, it should be blue. Apparently, minute copper particles colour it orange.

      Like

  3. Thank you for this post, Maggie. I’m a night bird, and I get really cranky when I’m hungry, too, a fact which hubby is just beginning to accept. He used to take it personally. Now he just gets me a banana. ;-))

    XXX :-))

    Like

  4. Great day; great post; lovely rock! I’ve always been morning for brain and midday for physical, but developing a late-night second wind habit that is wreaking havoc with adequate sleep. Not a napper. Yikes zzzzzzz

    Like

  5. Hi Maggie! Love your posts 😉 I don’t know what I am these days. Used to be a night owl, but… every day is different. Son and grandson (age 8) flew in for Easter and we hiked the Bandera Volcano and Ice Cave this weekend. Grandson said it was better than Disneyland! How cool is that? 😉 Very easy hike but now I’m sitting here with an ice pack on a very swollen knee. 😦 Errrrrrr!!! 😉

    Like

    • Hey, great to hear from you! I bet you were tickled with your grandson’s review of the hike! Sorry to hear about the kneebone. 😦 Hope you have a speedy and full recovery! thanks for dropping by to say hi!

      Like

  6. I’m not a cheerful person. I am very quiet and reserved. But when my alarm goes off, I jump out of bed ready to kick the day’s ass! Usually.

    Like

  7. I liked reading this. Sounds like your weekend was filled with misadventure, and Reiner sounds indefatigable!

    Like

  8. For the non-athlete, you had a very busy weekend! I didn’t realize that you could find such gorgeous stones in local quarries. I’m going to have to pay more attention to rocks now 🙂
    I too am a morning person. I fade considerably by mid-afternoon.

    Like

    • I had no idea, either, until I met Reiner. Mineral collecting is great for the treasure hunter in me. Have a good day!

      Like

      • At the risk of asking a dumb question – how do you know what you are collecting? Is it like bird watching that you have books etc to help identify the mineral? To me, it would just be a pink rock.
        When we were hiking the Bruce Trail, we saw some spectacular stones and some were massive in size.

        Like

  9. Hi Joanne! I knew birds and flowers and stuff, but rocks were just rocks to me, until I met Reiner. It is like bird watching in that you identify a specimen based on where you find it, it’s colour, what it is associated with. Then there are the many other physical properties like hardness and cleavage etc. It’s a lifetime of learning.
    The Geological Survey of Canada publishes field guides for the hobbyist. So if you are starting out and don’t happen to have a geologist in your household, then you have some idea of what the pink rock you have before you might be.
    There are rocks like those that you see on the Bruce Trail, and there a crystals, which are found in the small spaces (vugs) and cracks in the rock. I liked the way Eckhart Tolle described crystals as a rock’s blossoms. Reiner did not care of the analogy. Rocks don’t have flowers, anyone knows that! 🙄

    Like

  10. great post and agreed about the coffee and being fed to keep the world in proper balance!!

    Like

  11. 🙂 Being fed: one lesson I learned early! Thanks for stopping by.

    Like

  12. It’s hard to beat the outdoors when all is said and done. Your day at the quarry sounded nice, Maggie.

    Like

  13. It really was ideal – no bugs, cool enough, and just the right amount of specimens to carry out. 🙂

    Like

  14. Glad you had a successful expedition and came home without injury!

    Like

  15. Thanks, Barbara. It has taken me several seasons to understand my limits, and more importantly, Reiner’s seemingly boundless limits. Rarely do he and I tire at the same time.

    Like

Your thoughts?

