The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Snow Joke: Share My World Week 15

For your blog do you basically use Windows or Mac, laptop, desktop, pad, or phone?

I use a desktop computer furnished with Windows for most of my blogging fun. I cannot easily compose or otherwise format material on my Android tablet, but it comes in handy for reading and the occasional comment.

As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I remember the day I made the announcement that I wanted to be a teacher. I was enchanted by the classroom decor – the pictures mounted all around the room, above the blackboards. I was particularly taken by the roll-up map.

About thirty years later, as part of my DSW training, I had the chance to work in a classroom, supporting children with learning disabilities. My first day at the public school, I followed the children from the school yard into the classroom. It was like I had fallen into a time warp: echoing chatter and giggles, the smell of industrial strength floor cleaner, little feet clomping on hardwood floors. Did you know that little kids have a signature smell? They do! Especially in large flocks. The sensations almost overpowered me and I had to fight back tears.

Did you grow up in a small or big town? Did you like it?

I suppose my hometown qualifies as a big town. Certainly not a big city. Did I like it? It took me a long time, as in decades, to become aware of and appreciate my surroundings. I prefer smaller towns today.

How old would you be if you didn’t know how old you are? 

Thirty to forty on good days. When my back acts up, though, 1002.

Bonus question:  What are you grateful for from last week, and what are you looking forward to in the week coming up?

I am grateful for last week’s spell of summer-like weather. I cleaned up the yard a bit and prepared the veggie patch for spinach and snap peas. Take a look at what greeted us this morning.

April 15 2014 - The Winter the Refuses to Leave

April 15 2014 – The Winter that Refuses to Leave

This week, as in today, I am part of the Blogging 201 event. I’m looking forward to meeting new folks and hope to learn something new.

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Inspired by Cee’s Share Your World

 

 

 

 

 

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags:

21 replies

  1. Your photo is beautiful…but I bet you are saying enough is enough. Thanks so much fro sharing, I enjoyed reading your answers.

    Like

  2. indeed – the weather is a joke – but it’s not April 1st anymore, I wail!

    Same thing happening here, today – yesterday, warm and rainy and today, umm … now snowing with a delightful temp. drop to the -10C with windchills feeling like -20C —- Hello, Spring?

    Well, I guess it won’t last too much longer and we can take heart in getting some of the smaller bits done when we can 🙂

    Like

  3. I can identify with that pic. But we know it’s not going to stay. Right, Mama Weather? O.o

    Like

  4. Ack! Our temperature dropped here in WV from 70 to 40 in about an hour! I have the heat on. 😦 Sad, so very sad.

    Like

  5. I feel you pain. Can’t feel my toes, though. It’s too cold! 😉

    Like

  6. Snow, snow, snow. Makes for great pictures, but, lousy driving! Wonderful post.r

    Like

  7. What about coming to visit us in Australia? your snow looks so beautiful.

    Like

    • If I could, I would! When I lived with The Performer, we seriously considered a move. It has actually come up in conversation as related to Reiner’s work as a geologist. As Joanne said in her post, never say never!

      Like

      • Our lives have linked up in many ways; teaching disabled students, one must have a sense of humour to manage to remain sane. It’s a great profession, and the students can be so interesting.

        Like

        • Barbara, the more I write, the more I realize that we (as in humans) are so much the same. But then I find carbon copies of myself exist, too! Which is great, but also just a little spooky!
          I never did find work on the front lines as a DSW. I would have loved a job in the classroom, but the competition for the jobs was fierce. Besides, life had other plans for me.

          Like

  8. Ugh for the snow – although the photo is beautiful. I’m waiting a few more weeks up here before I do any serious garden work (but I’m considering raking the dead stuff away next week if the weather holds…)

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Share your World – Week 15 2014 | Aiming for Simplicity
  2. Share Your World – 2014 Week 15 | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

Your thoughts?

