The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Handsome Fellow

dirty spring_007There’s not much to see.

Still snow, all dirty and granular, full of spruce needles and black and grunge that comes from I know not where.

Granted, there is more grass showing than snow (finally!) but it’s all brown and crispy from the harsh, sear winter just behind us.

Empty sunflower seeds apron the bird feeding stations.

What a mess.

The ground is soggy and trips to the compost pile must be strategically plotted through the squishy bits.

***

But wait! What’s this?

Oh ho! Aren’t you the handsome devil!

Pretty Birdy

I don’t know about you, but if I were a turkey of female persuasion, I’d be mightily impressed!

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Inspired by the Daily Prompt 

 

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , ,

10 replies

  1. Gasp !!!
    you mean, you have those enormous birds just… wandering around ?
    How bloody AMAZING, Maggie ! 🙂

    Like

  2. Yup. The turkey was all but extinct in these parts, until three decades ago when it was reintroduced. Now they are everywhere. You’d like them, M-R, especially during mating season. I’ve seen three or four males all puffed up and posturing. The wattle turns bright, bright red. They perform this really eerie dance move… they spin around like they are on a rotating platform. Mesmerizing. I think I’m more impressed than the hens, actually! Have to be careful getting photos. They are ultra sensitive to people and spook very easily.

    Like

  3. How beautiful your bird life must be! I love the turkey gobbler!

    Like

  4. I had to sit here chuckling – what a brilliant image of “handsome” – and I love your caption!

    Indeed Maggie, I think I too am more enthralled with this guy than perhaps, the females – but, I’ve had “enough turkeys” in my life – no more – more than several servings is TOO much 😉

    But this one – just beautiful. Excuse me while I wander off to stare at the image for awhile 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. CCR Baby | Thinking Diagonally
  2. Lookin’ Out My Back Door | Oh Danny Boy!
  3. [M.M.X.I.V. 93] So near yet so far | Never A Worry

Your thoughts?

