The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge: Black

schorl 1

***

schorl 2

***

schorl 3

Black schorl, with white microcline and tan muscovite

The specimen measures 3.5 cm x 2.5 cm x 2.0 cm

and is from Dassu, Pakistan

Schorl is a variety of tourmaline; microcline is a variety of feldspar;

Muscovite is a variety of mica.

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Inspired by Jennifer’s One Word Photo Challenge

Categories: Blog Blog Blog, Mineral Collecting

Tags: , , , , ,

20 replies

  1. what an absolutely stunning piece! I’m inspired 😉 Best wishes, WG

    Like

  2. Maggie,

    I hope you’re happy. You’re turning me into an amateur geologist! Every time you post a specimen I feel compelled to look it up. So . . . does your schorl sample exhibit any magnetic properties?;)

    Btw, lovely picture! I love the contrast of the shiny black to the matte white and slightly pearlized tan. It makes me think of a bacterium being engulfed by a white blood cell. I also like that if you look closely you can see the laminae on the muscovite (see! I did look it up!). Thanks for sharing!

    🙂

    Like

  3. [evil maniacal laughter][to herself… gooooood, my evil plan is working] Ahem. You were saying? Oh, yes, the schorl. Um, one moment please. Nope, no magnetism that I can detect with a rare earth magnet. That’s interesting, though. My first choice for today was magnetite.(this schorl was my third) I’m glad you are enjoying the minerals. I actually got a little lazy today and decided against any “teaching moments.” Maybe next week!

    Like

  4. Such a rich warm black, fantastic!

    Like

  5. Bee-yoo-tiful, Maggie ! Stunning, in fact … I begin to get a faint feeling for your passion for minerals …

    Like

  6. The first photo looks like a sea-chest, long underwater, barnacled, damaged, broken open, with SOMEthing, corroded by salt water, spilling out of it.

    (Or, could that be a previously unknown, and possibly menacing, undersea creature?)

    I hadn’t known muscovite is mica. Too bad I won’t remember this stuff, ’cause it is interesting, Maggie!

    Like

    • I like your imaginings. Don’t worry, no sea creatures here!
      Yeah, there are about three dozen varieties of mica! I wouldn’t worry about remembering. In mineralogy, it seems that everything is a moving target as science uncovers new information and revises old.
      I particularly like this piece for several reasons. It’s aesthetic, mostly free from damage (there’s a spot not shown where one of the microcline pieces popped out and left a small dimple in the schorl) it’s the right size for our thumbnail collection AND I found it all on my ownsome at a mineral show. Plus it was very inexpensive. Score!

      Like

  7. Turmalin – one of my favorites…

    Like

  8. Beautiful! A very interesting specimen indeed. You’re turning me into a bit of an amateur geologist as well!

    Like

  9. Nifty photo – looks kinda like licorice

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: Black | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  2. One Word Photo Challenge: Brown | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Your thoughts?

