The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

My Résumé in Full Colour

Today’s Daily Prompt suggested that I write about my job. Since I am “between jobs” at the moment, I thought it would be fun to show you my résumé, in pictures.

 

babysitting

Kari McKeen from the Incredibles is my hero – though if I had seen this movie when I was girl, I might have given babysitting a pass. Click through for Jack Jack Attack.

Newspaper Carrier Good exercise, that... but hell to pay on the old skeletal system.

From Kari to Carrier: good exercise, that… but hell to pay on the old skeletal system.

kci

My Alma Mater and also my place of employment for a couple of summers. Mom got me the gig repairing textbooks.

Thanks Ma, again, for snagging the job posting from the guidance office bulletin board. I worked at Bell after school and then went full time upon graduation.

Thanks Ma, again, for snagging the job posting from the guidance office bulletin board. I worked at Bell after school and then went full-time upon graduation.

I worked in the payment office at the iconic, now defunct department store.

While I was with The Performer, I dabbled in art and drama and music for a while. Which was in direct conflict with corporate Bell. I worked part-time in the payment office at the iconic, now defunct department store.

Back to Bell - I came to my senses. This is the regional head office in London.

Back to Bell – I came to my senses.

fanshawe

Bell downsized about 10,000 and as part of the transition to a new career, supported me for three years while I studied at Fanshawe. When I graduated with my DSW diploma, I accepted work as a teacher back in the classroom.

csm

My second marriage led to my career as mom in our Mom and Pop sewing machine store…

gtel

… and when Pop fired Mom, I worked for this contracting firm. If you want to read how *that* turned out, click through.

Roz

Guess it’s apparent that I have a thing for Pixar. This is Roz. My sometime alter ego when I worked as office manager at Process Vacuum Technology. Click through if you’d like to know more about PVT. Our motto: we suck!

And there you have it. From the mid-60’s to 2012 in vivid technicolour!

***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Categories: Daily Post, Work, work, work

Tags: ,

57 replies

  1. Love it, Maggie: what a great, original, sweet and funny way of communicating the information! xxx

    Like

  2. That was great! I love Jack Attack. And Roz. My biggest issue is that I didn’t see this on my Reader for some reason. 😡

    You owned a sewing shop? That is so cool! Do you sew? And if so, what do you sew? Quilts, clothes, home furnishings?

    Fun post!

    🙂

    Like

    • I don’t understand Reader. I’ve taken to registering for email notifications on the chance that my faves slip through the cracks. Pain in the tuckus, but not as much as missing out on a post.
      There are several posts brewing regarding the sewing years. To answer your question indirectly, I own a sewing machine and it sits in the attic minding its own business. Let’s just say I know enough to be dangerous. And let’s also just say that I brought to bear all of my “considerable” acting skills when it came to selling sewing machines. Mom, on the other hand… sewing fiend. I’d say that she was a sewing machine but then you’d unfriend me. 😉

      Like

      • I would most certainly NOT unfriend you! Your response was quite witty. I thought “I own a sewing machine and it sits in the attic minding its own business. Let’s just say I know enough to be dangerous.” was especially funny!

        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

    • Post script: how rude of me. If I am to judge by your enthusiasm, do you enjoying sewing? And PPS – I’ve reported the reader thing to WP.

      Like

      • Maggie, you are never rude. I do enjoy sewing when I get the chance which lately = never. I’ve made many little outfits for my girls, and I’m self taught, so you can imagine some of the results!

        Thanks for reporting the Reader issue to WP. I think it’s mostly due to one blogger I follow cause I kind of feel I have to and said blogger puts out a LOT of posts. I think it drowns out the posts with actual content. Ah well . . .

        Like

  3. Very creative! Enjoyed this vivid technicolor!

    Like

  4. Your imagery is so descriptive, thanks for the funny, self-abasing time line of your career!

    Like

  5. Excellent use of visual drama – the motto on the last may have been ‘we suck’ but this post certianly didn’t. Loved it.

    Like

  6. Very creative! The Incredibles is a great movie. Especially the driving scene where they are trying to decide which road to take into the city. I can so relate to that! Anyway, loved your post. Thanks!

    Like

  7. This was such an out-of-the-box way to portray what you have done. How did you EVER think of it? I wish it could have been in “technicolor” AND Surround Sound! PS. This also did NOT show up in my reader. But I have this trouble with a lot of your postings so I just come to your blog directly on a regular basis.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Such a clever interpretation of the theme — great job!

    Like

  9. Maggie! I LOVE your resume! The best thing I’ve read in a long time! Good “job.” 😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Like

  10. Just curious…what defunct department stores did you work for. I worked for two that tanked. We can pick ’em, huh? 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Daily prompt: Work | The Wandering Poet
  2. When It Comes To Work There Should Be One Word Above All Others – Respect | lynnesartandsoul
  3. It’s a living | Mindful Digressions
  4. Daily Prompt: Sixteen Tons | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  5. Obsession | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  6. Share My World Week 15 | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  7. The Underwear Salesman | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  8. Slips, Trips, and Falls: Part 2 | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  9. Lazy Bones: Slips, Trips, and Falls Part 3 | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  10. One Word Photo Challenge: Eggplant | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  11. It’s a Hobby | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  12. Share Your World May 29, 2017 – The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

