The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

One Word Photo Challenge: Red

Vanadinite crystals close up.

Vanadinite crystals close up.

Vanadinite is a secondary lead chlorovanadate. It is almost always found in the oxidation zone of lead deposits in arid climates resulting from the alteration of vanadiferous sulphides and silicates of the gangue and wall rocks.

Phew!  Ain’t that a mouthful?

The specimen illustrated here was collected in 1972 by my husband Reiner.

He found it underground at the Apache Mine in Arizona.

The overall specimen measures 9.0 x 7.0 x 3.0 cmvanadinite

***   ***   ***   ***   ***   ***

Inspired by Jennifer’s One Word Photo Challenge

Categories: Mineral Collecting, Photography

Tags: , , ,

16 replies

  1. Wow. This is gorgeous. I think this is my favorite of what you’ve posted for the one word photo challenge so far. Thank you so much for sharing! Now I want to own one of these 🙂

    Like

  2. Uh-oh, someone’s been bitten by the mineral bug! 🙂 Vanadinite is fortunately a fairly common species and a lot of material is being mined for people who collect for enjoyment of the form. I’m glad you liked this, Jennifer. I have fun with your colour challenge.

    Like

  3. Wow, Maggie – that’s GORGEOUS stuff ! I’ve never seen that particular shade on red some out of the earth … It’d make terrific earrings, eh? 🙂

    Like

  4. I was wondering early this morning if you were going to post more mineral pics soon. It’s like you read my mind! That macro pic is stunning! I love how the vanadinite is sort of delicately speckled in a band across the rock. There’s something very dainty about it that’s quite appealing. So of course I googled vanadinite after I saw this post and I was wondering if the small orange inclusions are due to higher concentrations of arsenic?

    Thanks for sharing this!

    🙂

    Like

    • Thank you Jess! That’s fun to hear that you anticipated the mineral photo today. Sorry to say, we no longer have this specimen, otherwise I’d take a look at the piece under the scope. Even then, I doubt I’d be able to answer your question about inclusions. I’m not sure if what shows up as orange specks on this photo are “artifacts” of the photographic process – glints or shadows or other digital apparitions or actual fragments of minerals. Stay tuned for next Tuesday when the “color” is Black!

      Like

  5. Most interesting crystal, Vanadinite, and great photo depicting red!

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. One Word Photo Challenge: Red | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  2. One Word Photo Challenge: Black | Jennifer Nichole Wells

Your thoughts?

