The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

XXX Rated

photo by no-frills marilyn via flikr.com

photo by no-frills marilyn via flikr.com

What does a gal have to do to get a drink around here?

Yesterday I read Marilyn Armstrong’s funny little item about internet searches that led to her blog. She was amused by the preposterous linkage. Got me to wondering about my own stats. Hey there! One from a Google search. Yay! Oh wait, that was me testing the system.

My writing  style may sound prudish and tame. That’s the persona I present both online and in the “real” world while we are getting to know one another. Later on, though, once it feels safe and I can drop my guard, and in PRIVATE conversation, I’ve got quite the potty mouth.

To wit: I know the words, I know how to use them, and I think it’s perfectly OK to do so. Thing is, I find it jarring when people use profane language in their online work. It saddens me to believe that writers, especially women writers, will make their posts more “hit-worthy” by strategic placement of key search terms. All for the sake of marketing.

There is an entry in my drafts folder called “Provocative Prose”. My intent is to explore the marketing ploys used to enhance traffic and how I feel about them. Which leads me to this little experiment. Below is a list of bad words. (Is my upbringing showing or what?)  I want to see how long it will take before my stats show hits from search engines.

What can I say?  I’m curious and I have an ego.  Sue me.

WARNING!

DANGER, DANGER WILL ROBINSON!

PROCEED WITH CAUTION

THIS MEANS YOU!

DON’T SAY I DIDN’T WARN YOU!

tits ass cock suck dick cunt slut fuck shit bitch bugger vagina penis boobs boobies breasts

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

14 replies

  1. LMFAO! Good luck and keep us posted! :>

    Like

  2. Wow. That’s a good’un! Beats out Wyatt Earp clothing! Whoohoo!

    Like

  3. Maybe because I am new to blogging (today is day 28 of this crazy adventure) OR because I just don’t care. I had never even looked at my stats before reading this post… So what you are saying is that people plant “hit worthy” words and phrases to come up on search engines. For me that is a bit weird, but I’m not using this platform as an income source, so the idea never entered my mind.
    I learned something new today…. Thx

    Like

    • Hi there. Thanks for writing. I”m glad you wrote, because I’m new here, too, since January 5th. That’s my theory, yes. It’s not my intention to gain fame or fortune either, so I haven’t read any marketing advice. But my *hunch* is that writers are encouraged to include provocative words and subjects just to rile up the masses or increase incoming traffic. Someone with more authority, please feel free to join the conversation!

      Like

  4. And here was me too innocent (stupid) to realise what a sterling source of hits I was missing!

    Like

  5. I followed the “is this thing on link” to your page, but this article “xxx” was suggested as a “related post” so of course I clicked through–how did the experiment work? was there a big surge in hits?

    Like

Your thoughts?

