The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Jean’s Kitchen

I think about my mom. Probably more than I realize. Jean died in a car accident almost 27 years ago. Just enough time has passed that the anniversary of her death will go by unnoticed. It was a devastating loss. I barely knew her, adult to adult, and I suppose I regret that.

pyrex bowls

1950’s Print Ad for Pyrex Ware Color Bowl Set

In my kitchen, however, are mementos of my mom and that’s why I think she is on my mind more than I realize. Things like her set of Pyrex Ware bowls. Thank goodness for flea markets: I’ve had to replace two, maybe three of the bowls.

Then there’s this little canister.   When I was a girl, it was my job to make tea for meals.  Back then, we stored tea bags in the jar. It serves the same purpose now, in my pantry.  There are no markings on the canister, but web searches reveal that the pattern is Rooster and Roses and was made by UCAGCO – United China and Glass Co. Apparently there was a whole suite of accessories and the items were popular wedding gifts in the 50’s.

Roosters and Roses Cookie Jar

Roosters and Roses Cookie Jar via Etsy

My brother has some of her things and for Christmas he gave me Mom’s tattered and splattered Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book.  “New” in name only.  The spine is missing, the corners are threadbare and pages are yellow.  And the recipes!  Oh my word, talk about dated!  It was issued in 1953 as per Craig Payst of “Owls on the Table.”

The cover page for Chapter 3, Appetizers and Beverages is the fantastic creation below.  Are you ready?  Liver Sausage Pineapple.  Here’s what Payst has to say:

To me, the insult on top of the injury in this recipe is probably the “top with real pineapple top,” not just because this is absolutely the only instance in this entire book where the word “pineapple”  isn’t preceded by the words “can of”, but because it implies that an actual pineapple was sacrificed to make this thing.  An entire pineapple would have to be thrown away just for the sake of its least edible part decorating a meat-frosted jelly jar, as there is absolutely no way you could ever serve this and an actual pineapple at the same party. 

Here’s the recipe – let me know if you make it – and survive.

bhg-liver-sausage-pineapple-226x300

Liver Sausage Pineapple

Mix 1 pound liver sausage with 1 tablespoon lemon juice, 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 cup mayonnaise. Shape around a jelly glass. Soften 2 teaspoons unflavored gelatin in 2 tablespoons cold water, dissolve over hot water; add 1 cup mayonnaise; chill. Frost “pineapple,” score; stud with sliced stuffed olives. Top with real pineapple top.

Categories: Blog Blog Blog

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 replies

  1. Catching up… and OMG I have that exact same cookbook!

    …except mine wasn’t handed-down so much as pilfered when my father wasn’t looking while I ransacked his house that looked like a hoarder lived in it so he was never gonna miss it anyway and now he’s dead so who cares?

    Too much? That’s okay, I’m moving on now.

    :>

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Howard | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  2. It’s a Chore | The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

