The Zombies Ate My Brains

Rescuing what might remain of the grey matter.

Foodstuff

Eating Animals

Photo Credit: Goodreads

I didn’t see this one coming.  Our household is going vegetarian. Sort of.  No more factory farmed meat. It’s too soon to tell, but if I should come across a source of locally and humanely raised beef or chicken, and if the price is right, then I’ll eat it. Maybe. For the moment, I feel a tad queasy after reading Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer. If Foer had his way, we’d all be vegans. I can’t make that leap, at least not all at once. Eggs and dairy are still on the menu. As is fish.

Our local supplier of free range eggs has gone out of business.  Until we find someone new, we will purchase from the grocery store.  Which might just be wishful thinking.  Call me a cynic, but I don’t trust the labels or the industry-published literature.  My definition of “free range” means hens are able to run loose in the vegetable patch and catch bugs.  In Foer’s experience, the industry definition means the birds are crammed together, “chick by jowl” in one large pen.  One must admit that this a degree better than the battery cages.  Oh, and one open window qualifies as access to fresh air, doncha know.  

We will continue to eat fish. Partly because our cat doesn’t like canned salmon and my hubby bought two cases of the stuff on Boxing Day. Apparently it was a good year for the salmon harvest.

Food preparation might be challenging. Hubby has considerable dietary limitations – no garlic, for instance. Nor coconut. Beans (fresh or dried) give him trouble. I’ve lost some of the passion that I once had for throwing together a meal. Maybe this change will rekindle it.   Let me know if you have any recipes – for canned salmon, especially!

Categories: Food

Tags: , , , ,

10 replies

  1. I hear you.

    Meat is a conundrum. To be affordable, it has to be mass produced. To be buy local, meat becomes a luxury.

    For canned salmon, Julia Child does an unforgettable soufflé with it. You can also make quenelles, mousse, pate, and roulade. Most people think they’re difficult to prepare. They’re easy. If you’ve never prepared them, they’re just different — and that MIGHT rekindle that passion for cooking.

    Like

  2. Hello Cteavin! Thanks for… everything! The soufflé sounds like just the ticket. I will report back with the results!

    Thank you too for being [drum roll] my first ever blog commentator! Congratulations!

    Like

  3. I rather enjoy your blog and would like to nominate you for the Liebster award. Check out the details here.
    http://samsherwood95.wordpress.com/2014/01/13/i-got-nominated-for-the-liebster-award-wow/

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Kitchen Cupboards – a Nutritional Remodel | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  2. Tummy Troubles | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  3. LIOLI-2 Love it or Leave it – 2: Liver | The Zombies Ate My Brains
  4. More About Iron. It’s Child’s Play | The Zombies Ate My Brains

Your thoughts?

